Brief history of Interamerican Conference on Physics Education (IACPE)

The convening of these conferences was originally an initiative of and under auspices of CLAF and the Organization of American States (OAS). The first Conference was held in Brazil in 1963. The second one was held in Venezuela in 1975. After a period with no conferences, the third conference (organized by Jorge Barojas Weber) was held in Mexico in 1987. A permanent Council for the organization of these conferences (InterAmerican Council on Physics Education, IACPE) was created during this third conference.

Since then, the conferences, called the Interamerican Conferences on Physics Education, have been held in different countries every three years. The fourth IACPE (organized by C. Luis Ladera) was held in Caracas, Venezuela in 1991; the fifth (organized by Robert Beck Clark) was held in College Station, Texas, United States in 1994; the sixth (organized by Alberto Maiztegui) was held in Cordoba, Argentina in 1997, the seventh (organized by Marco Antonio Moreira) was held in Canela, Brazil in 2000, the eighth (organized by Eduardo Molto) was held in Habana, Cuba in 2003, the ninth (organized by Leda Roldán) was held in San José, Costa Rica in 2006, and the tenth (organized by Rodrigo Covaleda) was held in Medellin, Colombia in 2009.

The eleventh IACPE was to be celebrated in Guayaquil, Ecuador in July 2012, but the date for the eleventh Conference was changed in 2011 to reflect the resolution of the Council following a request by the International Commission on Physics Education of IUPAP: it will be held in July 2013 instead.